Beth Waitrovich is a Food Safety Educator with MSU Extension.
Food packages are not required to have the gluten-free label. Companies are trying to promote their product to consumers looking for gluten-free products. It is required to label food products if they include any of the eight major food allergens: milk, fish, soy, Crustacean shellfish, peanuts, tree nuts, wheat and eggs. I do not have expertise in required labeling for medications. I think a pharmacist would be a good resource for that information.